News

16.03.2022

"In essence, negotiations are the basis of all diplomacy. After all, one of the main tasks of a diplomat, whether at the actual negotiations or when working at the embassy, is to agree on some mutually acceptable things with their foreign partners. This is the fundamental difference between the profession of a diplomat and the profession of a military man. A military man with a weapon in his hands achieves the task by force, and a diplomat  by finding a compromise,"  Yuri Nazarkin, Professor and Honorary Doctor (honoris causa) at the Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations.

12.03.2022

Today, on March 12, Amb. Yuri Nazarkin, member of PIR Center’s Advisory Board, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the USSR and Russia, Professor at the Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations, is celebrating his anniversary.

04.09.2018

“At the time of confrontation between the United States and Russia, two summits – one in Geneva in 1985, and the other one in Reykjavik in 1986 – helped to change the atmosphere. Neither resulted in specific agreements, but they turned the developments for the better. Although President Trump is facing strong domestic pressure against any meetings with President Putin, this channel of communication should be maintained,” – Amb. Yuri Nazarkin, Professor of the Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations, Member of Centre russe d’etudes politiques.

All News

Expert

Nazarkin, Yuri K. image
Name: Nazarkin, Yuri K.
City: Switzerland
Position: Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary (retired), Professor and Honorary Doctor (honoris causa) at the Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations
Biography :

Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of the USSR and Russia (retired), is a well-known diplomat with many years of expertise on disarmament issues. Between 1956 and 1992, he worked at the system of Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the USSR / Russia, throughout roughly two decades – on issues of disarmament and nuclear nonproliferation. Yuri Nazarkin contributed actively to drafting the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT), the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (BTWC), the Treaty on the Prohibition of the Emplacement of Nuclear Weapons and other Weapons of Mass Destruction on the Sea-Bed and the Ocean Floor and in the Subsoil Thereof (also known as the Seabed Arms Control Treaty), etc. In the period from 1987 to 1989, he acted as Representative of the USSR to the Conference on Disarmament. Also, he negotiated the draft of the Chemical Weapons Convention. Ambassador Nazarkin was a head of the delegation of the USSR during the US-Soviet negotiations leading to the conclusion of the 1991 Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty (START-1 Treaty). In 1992-1995, Yuri Nazarkin served as Deputy Chairman of the Security Council of the Russian Federation. Since 1996, after retiring, he has been engaged in teaching activities: currently he is a Professor and Honorary Doctor (honoris causa) at the Geneva School of Diplomacy and International Relations; he also was a Professor at the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP). Ambassador Nazarkin was an honorary member of the Centre russe d'etudes politiques (2006-2021). A member of PIR Center’s Advisory Board since 2021.

List of publications for PIR Center:

1. Negotiations of the Strategic Arms Redugstion Treaty. Yuri Nazarkin. Chapter 8. PIR Center monograph “Russian-American Dialogue on Nuclear Nonproliferation: Lessons Learned and the Way Forward”. – M.: Ves` Mir ; PIR Center ; PIR Press, 2021 – 460 pp.

2. Arms control agenda remains valid until next U.S.-Russia summitYuri Nazarkin. Working Group on Strategic Stability and De-escalation in US-Russian Relations, 2017.

3. Civilian control over the Armed Forces in Russia: history and prospects. Yuri Nazarkin. No. 3 (77), autumn 2005, p. 113.

4. Treaty on the Reduction and Limitation of Strategic Offensive Arms. Yuri Nazarkin. No. 6 (60), November–December 2001, p. 65.

 

Photogallery

90th anniversary of Amb. Yuri Nazarkin

Expert's commentaries

 

On July 16, 2018, President Putin and President Trump finally held their first summit in Helsinki. The summit did not yield specific agreements in arms control domain, which means the current problems will have to be addressed by next U.S.-Russia summit. Now there are only two major arms control ...

All articles
loading

Новости

16.03.2022

"В сущности переговоры — это основа всей дипломатии. Ведь одна из главных задач дипломата, будь то на собственно переговорах или при работе в посольстве, договариваться о каких-то взаимоприемлемых вещах со своими иностранными партнерами. В этом принципиальное отличие профессии дипломата от профессии военного. Военный, в руках которого оружие, добивается выполнения поставленной задачи силой, а дипломат — нахождением компромисса",  профессор и почетный доктор по международным отношениям (honoris causa) Женевской школы дипломатии и международных отношений Юрий Назаркин.

12.03.2022

Сегодня, 12 марта, юбилей празднует Юрий Константинович Назаркин, член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол СССР и России, профессор Женевской школы дипломатии и международных отношений.

04.09.2018

«Во времена конфронтации между СССР и США в 1980-х два саммита – один в Женеве в 1985 году, а другой – в Рейкьявике в 1986 году – смогли изменить атмосферу. Ни на одном из них не были подписаны конкретные соглашения, но они поменяли ход развития событий в лучшую сторону. Хотя внутри страны Президент Трамп сталкивается с сильной оппозицией встречам с Путиным, этот канал коммуникаций следует поддерживать», – Юрий Назаркин, профессор Женевской школы дипломатии и международных отношений, член Centre russe d’etudes politiques

Все Новости

Эксперт

Назаркин Юрий Константинович image
ФИО: Назаркин Юрий Константинович
Местоположение: Швейцария
Должность: Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол (в отставке), профессор и почетный доктор по международным отношениям (honoris causa) Женевской школы дипломатии и международных отношений
Биография:

Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол СССР и России (в отставке), – известный дипломат- разоруженец. В период с 1956 по 1992 гг. работал в системе МИД СССР / России, из них около двух десятилетий - по направлению разоружения и ядерного нераспространения. В частности, Юрий Назаркин участвовал в разработке Договора о нераспространении ядерного оружия, Конвенции о запрещении биологического и токсинного оружия, Договора о неразмещении на дне морей и океанов ядерного оружия и др. В период с 1987 по 1989 гг. являлся представителем Советского Союза на Конференции по разоружению. Вел переговоры по разработке Конвенции о запрещении химического оружия. Руководил советской делегацией на переговорах с США по ядерным и космическим вооружениям, в результате которых был заключен Договор о сокращении стратегических наступательных вооружений 1991 г. (ДСНВ-1). В 1992-1995 гг. Юрий Назаркин занимал должность заместителя секретаря Совета Безопасности России. С 1996 г., уйдя в отставку, занимается преподавательской деятельностью: профессор и почетный доктор по международным отношениям (honoris causa) Женевской школы дипломатии и международных отношений; также был профессором в Женевском центре политики безопасности (Geneva Centre for Security Policy, GCSP). Являлся почетным членом Centre russe d’etudes politiques (2006-2021). Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2021 г.

Список публикации в ПИР-Центре:

1. Договор о сокращении и ограничении стратегических наступательных вооружений. Юрий Назаркин. № 6 (60), ноябрь–декабрь 2001, с. 65.

2. Гражданский контроль над Вооруженными силами в России: история и перспективы. Юрий Назаркин № 3 (77), осень 2005, с. 113.

3. Arms control agenda remains valid until next U.S.-Russia summit. Юрий Назаркин. Рабочая группа по вопросам стратегической стабильности и деэскалации, 2017.

4. Negotiations of the Strategic Arms Redugstion Treaty. Юрий Назаркин. Глава 8 монографии ПИР-Центра «Российско-американский диалог в области ядерного нераспространения: полученные уроки и путь вперёд». – М.: Весь Мир; ПИР-Центр; ПИР-Пресс, 2021 – с. 460.


Фотогалерея

Юрий Константинович отметил 90-летний юбилей

"Моя жизнь – не книга или кино"

loading